See Jenn’s best friend now! 

From Mariah: 8-25-15

I was truly given the opportunity of a lifetime when Jenn gave me the pay it forward week to boot camp. I’ll be honest, there was a part of me that was terrified. Not afraid of hard work, or clean, healthy eating- but afraid of the mental issues I would have to face. I didn’t want to face those things. I have successfully lost weight twice and over time- I gain it back. This is the mental part. If you don’t deal with the mental part it doesn’t matter 

 what you do to lose weight it will always come back. I also struggle with injuries and when I start working out -I go too hard, injure myself, give up, repeat. Of course on day 1 there at boot camp I badly injured my shoulders (both previously weakened and unstable partly from past neck surgery). I knew I was over doing it but how do you say “I can’t do that” on day 1 in an environment like that, when they are yelling at you and it’s an insane environment? I did everything they asked- and I paid for it dearly. Spent every night in agony, one morning sitting on the edge of my bed rocking and crying in pain. By mid-week I had no choice but to tell them I could not do upper body at all and would need to know the modification. Most people were there to learn how to push themselves. Turns out I was there to learn how to manage injuries and persevere, and say NO I can’t do that! So hard for me!! Following the State of Slim book and learning all day, every day, from one of the books co-authors, Dr. Holly, I ended up losing 5 pounds in the week I was there despite my injuries and exercise modification. It was just the jump start I needed mentally. I have continued healthy eating and exercise since returning home and have continued to lose. Just today I made it into the 180’s! Even if it was 189.8 I’m calling it the 180’s!! Started at 200. There is nothing quite like immersing yourself in a place like for the sole purpose of helping yourself. I can never thank you enough Jenn! ❤️❤️❤️

Published by courageprevails

Age: 42 Resides: Cody, WY Occupation: 911 Operator Status: Married Height/Weight: 5’10” 342 pounds Jennifer grew up in a tiny town in Oregon and was the oldest of four children at home. When she was eight, Jennifer’s younger brother had an unfortunate accident while she was playing with him and hit his head on a brick hearth. He died three days later from spinal meningitis. Jennifer blamed herself for her brother’s death and has spent the next three decades punishing herself with shame and guilt. Now, severely obese, Jenn has found the love of her life, and has a 6 year old girl & 4 year old boy with him. But she’s about to face an even worse tragedy: Her husband, Dan, has been diagnosed with a terminal illness - and he has only 5-7 years to live. Knowing she needs to get her life & her weight in order for her kids, Jenn wrote a letter to Chris & Heidi Powell. This year, Jenn will face immense physical challenges, including the Disneyland Star Wars Half Marathon. And while they’re there - she will be rewarded with a family vacation like they have never experienced before! But will it be their last vacation together? It’s an emotional and inspiring story of courage and hope, as Jenn changes her life in spite of unbelievable odds at home. Her husband will face a potentially life altering surgery, she’ll visit her brother’s grave for the first time, and ultimately Jenn will walk onto the final weigh in stage a stronger woman than she ever thought she could be.

Leave a comment